While I wasn’t able to attend the slice of E3 that 2011 had to offer (scheduling conflicts), I was able to complete a majority of my typical coverage from the safety and comfort of my computer chair (and possibly the beach). Don’t worry, I’ll be going to E3 2012 as planned.

While E3 related events and demo’s are still happening right now in LA, the majority of the announcements have been made, and many of the games have been shown, though not all, I feel I can discuss my thoughts on the Expo thus far.

Let’s begin with the Xbox 360 conference held by Microsoft. The show in its entirety was enjoyable to say the least, not quite as yawn inducing (and kinect related) as 2010’s offering. Granted, a majority of the show was focused on Kinect, its progress, and a few mentions of ¬†”hardcore” titles to incorporate it, but it was a balanced show regardless.

Obviously the two major Halo announcements came as a surprise to the crowd, though not quite as surprising if the information hadn’t leaked a full hour ahead of the conference. Ignoring that factor in the equation, the announcement of both Halo 4 and Halo:CE Anniversary garnered…combative reactions to say the least.

In respect to Halo Anniversary, I can’t say I was entirely surprised. It’s been in rumor for over 6 months now, and the idea has grown on me. However, that’s not to say that the actual presentation won me over. In fact, the entire project has me skeptical. An HD remake of the original Halo that started the franchise just 10 short years ago sounds like a great idea. When interviewed on Spike shortly after the show, Design Guru Frank O’ Connor stated a few facts about the game.

It was said that the campaign would maintain the same engine and AI from the first game, just a graphical overlay would be applied, to showcase a graphical and high definition overhaul, and the trailer proves that. In fact, an overhauled Halo:CE campaigns sounds like a blast. However, the part that had me skeptical is the multiplayer offering that’s planned. But an additional however is required.

The multiplayer is reach based, its not a revamp of the original multiplayer. It’s similar to ODST, as these are just seven classic maps for Reach. DLC essentially.
Pretty much you’re getting an overhauled campaign of a full priced game, as well as two map packs worth of Reach DLC for $40.
That’s a steal in my eyes, especially if you’re a long time Halo fan.
Other standouts are Skyrim, Battlefield 3, Modern Warfare 3, the Nintendo WiiU (more on that later), and the announcement of a new Super Smash Bros for WiiU and 3DS as well as Pikmin 3 on the WiiU.
More E3 thoughts of mine can be seen on my official site for news: MegaGamerNews.What did you enjoy about E3?

