Written yesterday, posted today.


At the current moment, I’m sitting on a plane. Invigorating right? Well technically, I’m in a plane on my way to Detroit, my one connection before I hit PA, where from that point I’ll be shuttled to downtown Atlantic City, NJ. I’ll be staying at Caesars Palace with a whole slew of IGN’s IPL (IGN Pro League) team. As far as I know, I either have a room to myself, or one roommate. To be honest, I really could care less. While I’d love to have my own room where I could get some serious writing done, I don’t mind sharing it with someone I have never met before. How could I possibly complain?

This is day zero, travel day. The rest of the week will consist of days 1-7, with 7 being the Monday I travel back home to North Carolina. In days 1-6,I’ll be IGN’s official data wrangler. My job is to focus on the migration and organization of film data for the editors, as well as manage the flickr feed for the Social Networking gurus.

I’m being flown and put up in a hotel, not to mention fed the entire time, what more could an aspiring game industry worker ask for? Well, certainly not some IGN shirts, no sir. But you know what? I get those too. Wild right?

I’ll do my best to Vlog on these trips for my personal YouTube channel, but it’ll probably end up just being blog posts here, as writing is way simpler than putting up a video.

Anyway, I’m very excited to have this opportunity. This is one of many stepping stones into the game industry, and boy is it a BIG one. Sure, I’ve dreamed of working for places like IGN (mainly in Editorial), but I never thought an opportunity like this would come along like it did.

There’s so much I want to do with my life and career, and this is a giant leap in the direction I’m so passionate about, not to mention a giant stamp on my resume from IGN. The only thing standing in my way is the other half of college I have left.

I love video games, this industry, the people, and the community of gamers that surrounds it all. I’m not picky about job duties, but if it’s nestled in this industry, then I could never find myself unhappy.

Buckle in attendees of IPL Origins this weekend, it’s going to be one heck of a show.

